A Twilight Fashion Blog

To The Girl Who Doesn’t Look Like K- Stew

imma line

Dear Girl,

I’m sorry it took me so long to write this. I suppose it took me a while to figure out exactly what I wanted to say. By now, you might not even be a girl any more. You may have already graduated college . You may have gotten married. Maybe you’re about to start a family.

Dear Girl,

You are beautiful.

 

Let me elaborate.

I never really noticed how important it was to look like Kristen Stewart in the Twilight community (though it was all around me) until a friend came to me upset, explaining to me that people were only considered “pretty” if they looked like Kristen Stewart. I had began to notice she was right. Girls would post pictures of themselves – even videos – asking “Do I Look Like Kristen Stewart?”.

In selfies, girls would slightly distort their faces to change their facial features to have similarities of Kristen Stewart. We were all so obsessed looking at a picture and trying to see that face, that we completely overlooked the fact that this person was actually making a weird and unflattering face.

You don’t have to look like Kristen Stewart to be beautiful. Be you. Do your makeup the way you want to wear it, throw your hair up (or leave it down) the way it feels comfortable to you, and when your taking a  photo, show YOUR smile, not someone else’s.

Anyone can cosplay. By all means, have a Bella day. Wear her clothes, do your hair and your makeup, but don’t lose you. At the end of the day, take it all off, wash your face, and look in the mirror at your reflection – because if you are so set on looking like someone else, one day, you will look in the mirror and realize your reflection is not your own. It’s not what its supposed to be, and you may not be able to get back the reflection you’ve lost.

Dear Girl,

Love yourself, love your face, and always remember to love your twilight partner in crimes’ as well!

Love Always –

I.B.C

imma line

 

 

 

3 responses

  1. Kat

    Thank you for taking the time to put these lovely words out there. I think as cosplayers and especially as females we REALLY need to hear these words….multiple times…..throughout the day. Love the example you are setting. xoxo

    January 24, 2016 at 7:51 pm

  2. Pingback: Personal Identity and Twilight Cosplay | Go Ask Alice Cullen

  3. Pingback: My Definition of Cosplay | The Mini Moose

Leave a Reply

