A Twilight Fashion Blog

Rare Items: 2) The American Rag Thermal

ima moon

Now I know I have blogged about this item before, but seeing as how it still is fairly rare, why not add it to the list! The American Rag Thermal has been sought after by many a Twilight clothing collector since the Twilight film released in theaters. Bella Swan was seen wearing this thermal when she introduces Edward Cullen to Charlie, and wore it under her jacket throughout the baseball scene.

bella-swan-and-american-rag-cie-thermal-hoodie-gallery

I’m going to be completely and 100% honest. This top has gone for over $1,000.00 on eBay. Keeping that in mind while I tried this on for the first time lead to nothing but disappointment. Let me elaborate.

Way back when Twilight first came out and I started the blog, I (obviously) did a lot of research on Bella’s clothes, the brands etc. The one top I would always see come across on forums or in conversation was this infamous green top with adorable looking “print”. I’m not quite sure why this top in particular became a “thing” where everyone had to have one, but the American Rag popped up more on people’s wanted lists than her BB Dakota jacket (before it was rereleased). Naturally this intrigued me. As years passed by the American Rag grew in demand, but the amount available dwindled. About two and a half years ago the top reached its all time high. It was a once in a billion chance for this thermal to pop up on eBay and when it did, it sold for an amount too painful to admit.

Jumping ahead to when I tried this thermal on for the first time.

The term thermal in my opinion is used loosely. The “print” on the fabric is actually shear. You definitely need to wear a tank top underneath otherwise you’ll be getting a breeze and someone will be getting a show!wpid-storageemulated0PicturesIbc-Blogging-photos2013-12-30-09.18.17-1.jpg.jpg
The actual feel for the fabric is delightfully soft and the pouch in the front breaks up what would be a plain-looking shirt with a pattern.

wpid-storageemulated0PicturesIbc-Blogging-photos2013-12-30-09.18.08-1.jpg.jpg

The hood is probably my favorite part. It balances out the pouch in the front and gives your profile a slimming effect.

Over all, I love this thermal. I am incredibly thankful to my friend for gifting it to me (she found it for $20.00!) and I consider  myself incredibly lucky! That being said… in a world where I had not received this as a gift…  this girl’s wallet is a bit too small to love it for $1,000.00!

wpid-storageemulated0PicturesIbc-Blogging-photos2013-12-30-09.17.58-1.jpg.jpg

ima moon

7 responses

  1. eskmoksses

    I love this top!! But feel.exactly like you 🙂 I did the *jumping up and down dance* when it arrived 🙂 but definitely wouldn’t be in the $1,000 club to own it 🙂

    January 4, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    • Bells

      Exactly! We’ve all been at that point where we decide to spend a lot on a piece and there is nothing wrong with that! This thermal, however, was not one of those pieces for me.

      January 4, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    • Ameilia thiem

      Would you be willing to sell it?

      October 17, 2015 at 3:38 pm

  2. Miriam

    Thank you so much for continuing this website. Great information as always! 🙂

    January 4, 2014 at 9:11 pm

  3. Pat

    I have not seen this top on eBay, but love to have one. It’s cute and I like the colors. Your lucky to have found one. I’m a late bloomer and just started collecting “Bella Swan” items.

    January 12, 2014 at 5:42 pm

  4. Ameilia thiem

    Will you be selling tt? I found a blue alternative though and was wondering if I could dye it green.

    October 17, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    • Ameilia thiem

      I am too and I have seen one on eBay for $38.00 bit the listing has ended:(. There is a blue one you could get and maybe dye it green?

      October 17, 2015 at 1:20 pm

Leave a Reply

