A Twilight Fashion Blog

RE-ISSUED NEW MOON JACKET NOT THE SAME!?

Finally! I can’t begin to explain how relieved I am to update! I’m still changing a couple of things around, but most of it is all set 🙂 Anywho – I’ll jump right in!

What you are about to read is incredibly important! I received a message from a nice lady named Jamie, who informed me that the New Moon – Billabong Hannah Jacket  (re-released) is NOT and I repeat NOT! the same as the original jacket! Jamie had previously owned the original jacket, and misplaced it, hence, ordering the re-release. I checked my jacket and matched it to the picture all the website are using to advertise it, and sure enough, the jacket IS different. I have a couple of pictures – forgive me, my photographer is in Portland (lucky her! she unintentionally saw the waterfall filmed in twilight) so the quality is horrible.

First! Here’s the Original Jacket!

original

collar

Jamie and I got to talking about what was so different about the jacket. One of the first things I noticed and that she told me was the collar. if you look at the picture of the original jacket, the buttons on the collar are shown. On the re-release, the jacket has the buttons, but it obviously does not surface above the fabric (they are snap buttons to hold the collar down) Jamie also told me that the collar to this jacket is a lot bigger than the original.

logoJamie also informed me that the Billabong logo on the original jacket was not right into the jacket. It was actually on another piece of same material, then sewn to the jacket. Here…it obviously is not.

stitchingAbove the other pocket, there is supposed to be random stitching but it seems to be missing…

Seeing the actual original jacket, and comparing it to the re-release, I definitely would prefer the original. The style seems to be a lot more edgy and fun. I was and still am a little bummed to find out its not the same (especially since the re-released “Twilight jacket” as they are now calling it, is the same), considering the fans wanting to (or already have) buy it want the same jacket that will be seen in the movie.

Although this is true, I’ve never been anywhere close to an original. I could return the jacket and fine one on ebay (Jamie actually found one for 50$!), but the whole trying to outbid other people thing is too much effort for me. The jacket is still a good jacket (It actually saved me when I was stuck in the rain for an hour and a half – if it hadn’t come in the mail that day, i wouldn’t have had a jacket with me! – I’m now attached 🙂 ) and I don’t mind keeping it and thinking ” I have the jacket that was re-released for something awesome!” – but everyone is entitled to their own opinion, I would really like to know what you guys think about the re-release!!!!

Are you incredibly disappointed (understatement)? Bummed? maybe it doesn’t bother you one bit! definitely speak up! There aren’t really a lot of people talking about this right now, so I want to know!

Before i sign off I want to leave you guys with a quick photo of me wearing the re-released jacket just so you guys can see how it fits – once again i apologize for the lack of quality , I promise to take better pictures when Nicole gets back 🙂

me(yes, I admit it, I have an Edward Cullen poster in my bedroom… – this was actually done by accident! I forgot he was there!)  Please excuse the retouch varnish in the picture! I was using it for some paintings and it sneaked its way in!

Thank you very much to Jamie! Without her, I would have never noticed the differences in jackets, and wouldn’t have been anle to pass the message on to you guys!!! ❤

11 responses

  1. Shannon

    I don’t mind the new look of the jacket. I do think it’s wrong for billabong to advertise it as the same jacket.

    September 6, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    • Christilynn

      Yes! I agree that they should not have used the original picture to advertise the re-issue. I feel like it was a sense of false advertisement :/

      September 6, 2009 at 3:22 pm

  2. Chelle

    Hey, I was just looking online and I found the jacket on the pacsun website. The details look just like the original…so is the picture they show just wrong and when you order it you will find the re-release details on the jacket?

    September 19, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    • Christilynn

      This is very difficult to say. On every other website it seems that they advertise the original jacket, and people get the new one. I’m going to have to say you will get the re-released Hannah jacket, but I am not 100% positive, just because I haven’t heard any feed back from from that website. If you are still unsure weather or not you would like to purchase it, I suggest contacting pac sun or one of the stores to see if they know. I will also be checking because now I am curious. I’ll let you know what the pac sun people say ASAP! 🙂

      September 20, 2009 at 3:47 am

    • Christilynn

      okay, i just checked out the jacket from the website….and something very fishy is going on. if you notice, the first picture shows features of both the new and original jacket. It shows the sewed on Billabong logo (original jacket) AND it shows the buttons not on top but underneath the collar (re-released) If you look at the bottom photo where it shows you a close up of one of the pockets, you will notice on this collar has the buttons on top I’m slightly confused and i think they may be trying to mislead people, although i am curious about the bullet points saying what’s on the jacket like the sewed on patch. I’m definitely going to get this straightened out! thanks for mentioning this!

      September 20, 2009 at 4:52 am

    • Christilynn

      I just went to the Pacsun store, and the employees had no idea what i was talking about. They didn’t have access to internet explorer so they couldn’t look it up. (although they were very nice and offered me free shipping coupons 🙂 ) I got in touch with Pacsun, and they weren’t able to give me an answer either, even when I explained they had two different pictures on the website. I have one more trick up my sleeve.

      September 20, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    • Christilynn

      I Emailed Billabong explaining everything to them and they never contacted me back, however, I honestly think you will receive the same re-released jacket thats is slightly different from the original.

      September 23, 2009 at 12:15 am

  3. Chelle

    Thanks for going through so much to figure this out! I dont quite understand if they are trying to pull the wool over ppls eyes now that we know it was re-released. Oh well, I just thought people deserved to know this added detail in the ongoing bella jacket story! Anways I already have the Bella’s blue BB Dakota Jacket from Twilight and I LOVE it!! Can’t wait to wear it this winter.

    September 26, 2009 at 12:27 am

    • Christilynn

      No problem, it’s what I’m here for 😀 and thanks for that info! I’m glad you love the Dakota jacket and I can’t wait for winter and the cooler part of fall to wear the jacket as well! I love the fleece on the inside, it’s one of my favorite parts!

      ~Christilynn

      September 26, 2009 at 12:39 am

    • Christilynn

      Incase your still interested with the whole jacket confusion, Billabong emailed me back 🙂 i posted it here

      https://insidebellascloset.wordpress.com/2009/10/07/to-clear-up-any-confusion-with-the-hannah-jacket/

      🙂

      October 7, 2009 at 2:39 pm

  4. Pingback: The Infamous “New Moon Jacket” « Inside Bella's Closet

Leave a Reply

